B&Z and NaNoWriMo


 

So National Novel Writing Month is coming up in November. The goal of participants is to write 50,000 words by the end of the month, or an average of 1,667 words per day. I have never participated in NaNoWriMo, though I would have liked to, especially in my youth. It was only instituted a few years ago, and I have had my Serious Typing Injury for about that long. (For those that missed that particular story, I played Doom 3 for 5 hours straight, two days in a row, and my left elbow hasn’t recovered since.) Doing a lot of typing inflames my RSI.

I have decided, however, to tighten up my schedule to definitely post one part per week. I’ve been noticing that each part comes out to about 3,000 words to 5,000 or so. So that’s not too shabby for a 3-5 day week of NaNoWriMo.

I might ask a couple other Dragon Age Fan-Fic writers to join the post-a-week thing. I did try nudging Whuffie about NaNoWriMo, to get her to put out a lot for Audrie’s Tale… but she didn’t bite. Yeah, she’s too smart. :X She also dodged my hint about a post-a-week pact. Though I think her normal goal is two posts per week. Don’t want to hold her back. I should also ask Tryynity. She’s working on her Zevran-centric story as well.

At any rate, my goal is to post each Friday in November. Write that down. :X (I also need to hold some sort of fan drive, get some fans in here to motivate me.) I’m a little leery, because this is part of the Bannon & Zevran story coming up that I don’t have much mindwork done on. In fact, Leliana and Sten are coming up, and these are two characters I don’t really have a very good handle on. Bannon tends to collect people he thinks will be useful, then ignores them. ::cough!:: Like, say, Shale especially.

It would be helpful, no doubt, if I started playing through the fool game again. I meant to, last night, but… I played UWO instead. :X But I do need to replay it with Bannon. Get back in that groove. Besides, I added a bunch of enhancements to the game. Dialogue fixes, extra Zevran goodies, more black rogue armor… and a couple of add-in adventures.

There are also a number of minor characters that will have their own stories woven into the grand scheme of things. Leliana has things to do, as does Wynne (and the whole Circle). Soris is gonig to reappear down the line, as well as Ariadne from Witch Hunt. And I have little idea WHAT they are doing. Just inklings. I hope my brain is working on figuring it all out down there, somewhere, in the murky depths….

Oh, as for DA2’s story… at this point it is not clear if or how much influence that will have on the B&Z story. If it were up to me, I’d pretty much ignore DA2. :X However, the basic concept of the Tower/Chantry/Templar conflict is interesting. I can tell you right now, there is one major plot point of DA2 that is not going to happen, because certain characters have already had their futures locked in.

And, for the record, there’s no way in hell Bannon or anybody told Anders to ditch Ser Pounce-a-Lot! :P!!!

 


Leave a Reply

