Work Last Week


 

After working on my November Writing Project for two weeks, I figured out that I wanted to work on the Doctor Who/Torchwood story and Dragon Age: Torchwood Episode 1. And finish them this month. It still has not properly dawned on me that ‘this month’ has only one week left.

Also last week, I suddenly fell out of my sadistic mood. It happens. So that pretty much nixed work on the DW/TW story. Hence, I concentrated on the DA:TW story. The plot is not cooperating.

First, I spent half an hour or more trying to find the piece of paper where I had written down the final order of the scenes that made sense. I totally failed. So then I spent two more hours trying to figure that out again. At last, I had it hashed out. I wrote it on a single piece of paper, and I tacked it to my wall.

Then, just this weekend, I realized it wasn’t working. The main problem is, my brain developed this extra scene that is really a lot of fun, but didn’t fit in with the rest of the plot the way I had it. I should probably be ruthless and cut the scene back out. Or, cut out a scene with a similar setup that isn’t as exciting, as it only shows off Bannon’s negotiation skills. My Brain will not agree to this.

But now on my wall is the final Final plot, version 2.whatever. The second big Rift Storm scene is intact, with all the players in place. Then, the teaser scene that I wrote with Zevran in Owen’s car is null and void, because it’s going to end up being Bannon in Owen’s car. Now I have to figure out how that’s going to be different. Ugh. There’s another scene with Bannon & Zevran in Jack’s office, that will now have to be only Zevran by himself. That’s not so bad.

The rest of the bits and pieces of scenes I was starting and not finishing… are still in a big, jumbled mess. I might get half of those straightened out. Then I have to figure out how to imply all the things Torchwood is doing, when I have no idea what they’re doing. But it’s a lot of stuff. :X

Once I get all this nonsense settled down in Chapter 3, hopefully the rest of the story will be easy to write. Maybe by the end, I’ll figure out how to get Rhys back. Oh… or maybe I won’t. He’ll just be there. :X (No… people will lynch me. Drat.)

And after next week, I’d better have a clue what’s going on in the Circle Tower!

 


One Response to “Work Last Week”


Leave a Reply

